Book Review – The Ship of Shadows by Maria Kuzniar

Ship of Shadows

Aleja lives in Seville in Spain. She wants adventure and freedom, but is bound by domestic chores at home. But that changes when she gets a chance to join the Ship of Shadows. A magical ship crewed by female pirates. There are secrets, magic rooms on board ship, and a large library but Aleja feels that she is not being told the real mission of the ship. She is invited to stay for one voyage to Africa as she is speaks different languages. All the crew have different talents, and classes are held on weapons training, using pistols and the right way to use a cutlass. Gradually Aleja is accepted by the crew and taken on an expedition across the Sahara desert with the chance to ride a camel and solve a mystery about a lost city.
It is a great story with believable characters, friendships and following your dreams. It is full of drama, swashbuckling pirates and faraway places. Maria Kuzniar’s description of the high seas, mythical (or real?) monsters and the heat of the desert are wonderfully descriptive. I hope there are more tales of Aleja’s adventures on the horizon.

Order the book from Hive and collect from your local independent bookshop.Click here

Book Review – Orca Rising by Chris Hannon

The GCSE exams are over and a long summer holiday stretches in front of Ocean Daley. He really doesn’t want to help his stepdad on a building site, and he’s not sure about going back to school for A Levels. When a stranger arrives and says he’s Ocean’s uncle, his dead father’s brother, things start getting interesting. Ocean is invited to a summer school in Leicestershire, but when he arrives there only 5 other pupils from different parts of the world. They are set different tasks from computer coding, physical fitness and psychology. If they fail they will be asked to leave.

When Ocean and Dante are sent on their first mission, they begin to realise that something isn’t right. Is Hinkley Farm a place of good or evil? The motto is “By shadow we craft a future of our own making”

The first in a series, Orca Rising is a great story for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Robert Muchamore and Eoin Colfer, it is full of action and adventure, set in a relatable world.
I was given the book for an honest and frank review. For more details and to order the Orca books click here.

New series and updates added May 2020 part 2

Click image to order online.
Click image to order online.

Hi everyone, I hope you are doing ok in these strange times. Here in the UK we are coming out of lockdown very slowly, with shops trying to re open with all the new safety measures in place. Our independent bookshops need us more than ever now. You can order nearly all the titles on childrensbooksequels.co.uk online at Hive, by clicking the button next to the title, have it delivered or collect from your local bookshop.

Children’s Book Sequels is affiliated to Hive, Waterstones, Amazon UK, Amazon USA and Indie Bound in the USA. This is the only way I make any money so I am asking you to consider going through one of the affiliate buttons when you order an item.

I’ve added lots of titles over these last few weeks, some have had their publication dates changed, due to Covid-19 so do check when ordering.

So here’s the list of new series and updates: Click on the title and the link will take you to the right page at childrensbooksequels.co.uk

Continue reading “New series and updates added May 2020 part 2”

New series and updates added May 2020 part 1

Hi everyone, I hope you are all coping with the lockdown in your own way. I’ve been busy adding lots of titles and new series to www,childrensbooksequels.co.uk and there’s a long list below. If you click on the title it will take you to the relevant series page on the website.
Also a very big thank you to Michelle Harrison for sending me images for the blog header. You can find her page here: Michelle Harrison. 
If you are a children’s author, have a page on the childrensbooksequels.co.uk website and would like your series at the top of the blog page, please contact me via DM on twitter @ChiBkSequels
As I have mentioned before, the only way I make any money from the website is from affiliate links, so please consider ordering the books through the Waterstones, Hive, and Amazon links. You don’t have to just buy the linked item, anything will count as you’ve gone in via childrensbooksequels.co.uk .
I hope to make enough to cover the server charges, I don’t make enough to make a living but I enjoy doing it, and I hope it makes your life easier and you enjoy using the website.
So here’s the long list; happy reading.

Continue reading “New series and updates added May 2020 part 1”