Book Review: Umbrella Mouse to the Rescue by Anna Fargher

Umbrella Mouse to the Rescue (Paperback)

The sequel to The Umbrella Mouse, this continues the adventures of Pip Hanway, a little mouse on a big mission, to get to Italy during the Second World War. She is still with the Resistance group, Noah’s Arc but who can Pip trust? Not everyone is who they claim to be. A journey that takes the animals behind enemy lines, a tale of friendship and loss. A different view of the world at that time. A great story with wonderful characters.

Find the whole series here: Umbrella Mouse

Book Review – The Ship of Shadows by Maria Kuzniar

Ship of Shadows

Aleja lives in Seville in Spain. She wants adventure and freedom, but is bound by domestic chores at home. But that changes when she gets a chance to join the Ship of Shadows. A magical ship crewed by female pirates. There are secrets, magic rooms on board ship, and a large library but Aleja feels that she is not being told the real mission of the ship. She is invited to stay for one voyage to Africa as she is speaks different languages. All the crew have different talents, and classes are held on weapons training, using pistols and the right way to use a cutlass. Gradually Aleja is accepted by the crew and taken on an expedition across the Sahara desert with the chance to ride a camel and solve a mystery about a lost city.
It is a great story with believable characters, friendships and following your dreams. It is full of drama, swashbuckling pirates and faraway places. Maria Kuzniar’s description of the high seas, mythical (or real?) monsters and the heat of the desert are wonderfully descriptive. I hope there are more tales of Aleja’s adventures on the horizon.

Order the book from Hive and collect from your local independent bookshop.Click here

Book Review – Orca Rising by Chris Hannon

The GCSE exams are over and a long summer holiday stretches in front of Ocean Daley. He really doesn’t want to help his stepdad on a building site, and he’s not sure about going back to school for A Levels. When a stranger arrives and says he’s Ocean’s uncle, his dead father’s brother, things start getting interesting. Ocean is invited to a summer school in Leicestershire, but when he arrives there only 5 other pupils from different parts of the world. They are set different tasks from computer coding, physical fitness and psychology. If they fail they will be asked to leave.

When Ocean and Dante are sent on their first mission, they begin to realise that something isn’t right. Is Hinkley Farm a place of good or evil? The motto is “By shadow we craft a future of our own making”

The first in a series, Orca Rising is a great story for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Robert Muchamore and Eoin Colfer, it is full of action and adventure, set in a relatable world.
I was given the book for an honest and frank review. For more details and to order the Orca books click here.

Book Review – Fig Swims the World by Lou Abercrombie

Fig Swims the World (Paperback)
Click on image to order from Waterstones.

Fig is clever, she lives at home with a younger brother, Mum and Dad. But she is bullied at school, pushed to do more study at home by her mother and is generally fed up. She is 15 and wants more. Her mother has come up with a New Year’s resolution for Fig, acting classes with the local drama club. But for someone like Fig, awful. Fig’s New Year’s resolution was a bit different, she is going to swim the world. 19 fresh or salt water races in 6 continents, over the space of a year. Slight problem – she can’t swim. But as her very protective, pushy mother says resolutions should not be broken.
So begins an adventure into the unknown, the making of lasting friendships, a growing confidence in herself, that she could achieve something that her mother had no control over, and having the strength to stand up for herself.
In this age of mobile technology and social media, Fig finds the strength to turn off her phone and enjoy the journey.
This is a debut novel and I loved it.
I was given this e-book via net galley and Little Tiger Press for a frank and honest review.